The Great European Stool Sample

30€

The Great European Stool Sample

30,00

In stock

SKU: UMLP05 Category:

Description

The first official release of duo of rompish and frank improvisers Pierre Borel and Joel Grip, The Great European Stool Sample is a chatty constitution of constraints. The duo play with precision, isolation and possibilities of multi-layered communication. This production originates the wish to continue perform and execute the unsuspected through an already composed object – the recording. Herr Borelgrip is a witty contradiction in itself projecting sound, text and rhythmical ideas as if being together, simultaneously, as if being alone.

The music of Pierre Borel and Joel Grip started taking form in the triangle drawn up by Stockholm, Berlin and Paris in 2008. They have continuously been developing their music on stage in front of audiences, and therefore inevitably, hints with trust and failure. The Great European Stool Sample is a studio recording, but plays with the idea of it being a continuation of an active event in wich you as a listener can mix and change what to hear.

It includes texts in Swedish by poet Pär Thörn, and in French by musician Jean-Luc Guionnet. All composed in a gatefold double vinyl and 16-page booklet. Photos by french filmmaker Léa Lanoë and Swedish photographer Lisa Grip.

Additional information

Année

2020

Artiste

Joel Grip, Pierre Borel

Groupe

Herr Borelgrip

Artist(s)
Joel Grip
Pierre Borel

Band(s)
Herr Borelgrip

Tracklist

A – 18:00
left channel : saxophone and voice
right channel : double bass bowing and voice
B – 18:00
left channel : saxophone glissandi and drinking
right channel : double bass frappando with bow
C – 18:00
left channel : saxophone and clogs spinning
right channel : voice reading lenovo
D – 18:00
left channel : saxophone pianissimo
right channel : double bass slow walking

Credits

Pierre Borel : alto saxophone
Joel Grip : double bass
All compositions by Pierre Borel and Joel Grip.

Recording : Dala Floda (SE) . September 18-20 2017
Mixing : Christoph Schlimmbach
Mastering : Anthony Laguerre
Photos : Léa Lanoë and Lisa Grip
Design : Léa Lanoë and Pierre Borel
Texts : Jean-Luc Guionnet and Pär Thörn
Acknowledgements : Pierre Martin, Jean-Luc Guionnet, Pär Thörn, and Kulturföreningen Hagen

The Great European Stool Sample

30€

The Great European Stool Sample

30,00

En stock

UGS : UMLP05 Catégorie :

Description

Version numérique disponible sur Bandcamp.

Première sortie officielle du duo d’improvisateurs farfelus et directs Pierre Borel et Joel Grip, The Great European Stool Sample est une composition bavarde de contraintes. Le duo joue avec la précision, l’isolement et des possibilités de communication à plusieurs niveaux. Cette production donne l’envie de continuer à jouer et à réaliser l’insoupçonné à travers un objet déjà composé – l’enregistrement. Herr Borelgrip est en soi une contradiction spirituelle projetant des idées sonores, textuelles et rythmiques comme s’ils étaient ensemble, simultanément, comme s’ils étaient seul.

La musique de Pierre Borel et de Joel Grip a commencé à prendre forme dans le triangle dessiné entre Stockholm, Berlin et Paris en 2008. Ils n’ont cessé de développer leur musique sur scène devant le public, laissant inévitablement des traces de confiance et d’échecs. The Great European Stool Sample est un enregistrement en studio, mais joue avec l’idée qu’il s’agit de la continuation d’un événement actif dans lequel vous, en tant qu’auditeur, pouvez mélanger et changer ce que vous entendez.

Il comprend des textes en suédois du poète Pär Thörn et en français du musicien Jean-Luc Guionnet. Le tout composé dans un double vinyle accompagné d’un livret de 16 pages. Photos de la cinéaste française Léa Lanoë et de la photographe suédoise Lisa Grip.

Informations complémentaires

Année

2020

Artiste

Joel Grip, Pierre Borel

Groupe

Herr Borelgrip

Artiste(s)
Joel Grip
Pierre Borel

Groupe(s)
Herr Borelgrip

Tracklist

A – 18:00
canal gauche : saxophone et voix
canal droit : contrebasse à l’archet et voix
B – 18:00
canal gauche : saxophone glissandi et gorgées
canal droit : contrebasse frappando avec archet
C – 18:00
canal gauche : saxophone et sabots tournants
canal droit : voix lisant du lenovo
D – 18:00
canal gauche : saxophone pianissimo
canal droit : contrebasse walking lente

Crédits

Pierre Borel : saxophone alto
Joel Grip : contrebasse
Toutes les compositions sont de Pierre Borel et Joel Grip.

Enregistrement : Dala Floda (SE) . 18-20 septembre 2017
Mixage : Christoph Schlimmbach
Mastering : Anthony Laguerre
Photos : Léa Lanoë et Lisa Grip
Mise en page : Léa Lanoë et Pierre Borel
Textes : Jean-Luc Guionnet et Pär Thörn
Remerciements : Pierre Martin, Jean-Luc Guionnet, Pär Thörn, et Kulturföreningen Hagen