Herr Borelgrip

© Lisa Grip

The duo with the nom de guerre Herr Dr. Prof. Borelgrip is a concoction of distances in-between volatile whereabouts played on a wooden tablet in the hands of you and a rhino liberated from zoo. Their music started taking form in the triangle drawn up by Stockholm, Berlin and Paris in 2008. Being quite extreme – at least at the start – activist in developing their music on stage in front of an audience they often had to go far physically to play. This geographical move is also heard in their music. A topography based on trust. Their volatile whereabouts are dotted with unforeseen temperaments and tempi. It is not only suspicious, lazy, jealous, no, their sounding rampaging of rabbits is also temerarious and tragic.

There is not much more Herr Borelgrip can do about Herr Borelgrip’s music than doing it. And by doing it Herr Borelgrip discovers that there is much more to do than just doing it. So they do it, and sometimes not, in various ways using their hands and knees as sitting duck for their double nooses and a shared ear.

So far the duo have released very small editions of one cassette and one CD-R. They also made a short film based on their visit to Russia in 2011. In combination with touring they occasionally give workshops in improvisation strategies in making music (Prishtina, Lublin, Warszawa, Novi Sad).

Since many years they are stubbornly and not stubbornly working on releasing a huge edition of a double-LP to be named The Great European Stool Sample. Part from their duo Pierre Borel and Joel Grip play (or have played together) in the groups Umlaut Big Band, Escapade Wynton, Blythill and Klub Demboh.

Website : borelgrip.com

Members of the band


Joel Grip
double bass, lenovo and voice

Pierre Borel
alto saxophone, alto clarinet, flutes, clogs and voice

Albums and scores

Herr Borelgrip

© Lisa Grip

Le duo au nom de guerre Herr Dr. Prof. Borelgrip est un mélange de la distance entre deux lieux de séjour volatiles jouée sur une tablette en bois entre tes mains et d’un rhino échappé d’un zoo. Leur musique a commencé à prendre forme dans le triangle dessiné entre Stockholm, Berlin et Paris en 2008. Étant des activistes assez extrêmes – du moins au début – dans le développement de leur musique sur scène devant un public, ils devaient souvent se déplacer loin pour jouer. Ce déplacement géographique s’entend aussi dans leur musique. Une topographie basée sur la confiance. Leurs lieux de séjour volatiles sont parsemés de tempéraments et tempos imprévus. Il n’est pas seulement suspicieux, paresseux, jaloux, non, leur retentissant déchaînement de lapins est aussi téméraire et tragique.

Herr Borelgrip ne peut plus faire grand chose pour la musique de Herr Borelgrip à part la faire. Et en la faisant Herr Borelgrip découvre qu’il y a encore bien plus à faire que de simplement la faire. Donc il la font, et parfois non, de différentes manières en utilisant leurs mains et leurs genoux tels des canards pour leurs doubles noeuds et une oreille commune.

A ce jour le duo a sorti une très petite édition d’une cassette et d’un CD-R. Il a aussi réalisé un court-métrage sur leur voyage en Russie en 2011. Combinés aux tournées ils font parfois des workhops de stratégies d’improvisation dans la fabrication de la musique (Prishtina, Lublin, Warszawa, Novi Sad).

Depuis de nombreuses années ils travaillent obstinément et pas si obstinément que ça à sortir une grosse édition d’un double LP intitulé The Great European Stool Sample. En plus de leur duo, Pierre Borel et Joel Grip jouent (ou ont joué ensemble) dans les groupes Umlaut Big Band, Escapade Wynton, Blythill et Klub Demboh).

Website : borelgrip.com

Membres du groupe


Joel Grip
contrebasse, lenovo et voix

Pierre Borel
saxophone alto, clarinette alto, flûtes, sabots et voix

Albums et partitions