New Jazz Imagination

20€

New Jazz Imagination

20,00

Out of stock

SKU: UMLP04 Category:

Description

Download available on Bandcamp.

Four of the most idiosyncratic and creative voices at the margins of jazz, imagine their way into and around the music and philosophy of Ahmed Abdul-Malik. This is music to listen, dance and think to. A new jazz record, from a new jazz band.

[Ahmed] make music about the music of Ahmed Abdul-Malik. They excavate, re-inhabit and use a-new the now overlooked documents, and fragmentary plans, of his mid-20th century synthetic vision to produce a new jazz imagination for the 21st century.

Ahmed-Malik (1927-1993) was a NYC bassist, oudist, composer, educator and philosopher. A potent(ial) influence on Coltrane and Monk (we imagine), he was also a significant composer in his own right. (Ignored into creative obscurity, he spent his final decades teaching, and performing seldom). His albums Jazz Sahara (1958) and East Meets West (1960) fuse aspects of Arabic and East African musics and thought, his committed long-term relationship with Sufi Islam, and then-modern jazz and thinking – in revolutionary and vital ways. The product is exciting, radical, raw, and beautiful.

But, as well as honouring these traditions, Abdul-Malik invented and imagined a lot*. Abdul- Malik’s straddling, synthetic and inclusive vision is one of the great projects of the imagination in jazz. He mixed sounds and ethics, meanings and beliefs in open, experimental ways without dogma.

And so do [Ahmed]. They visit and (re)think his compositions and the process potential in them. They play the notes, but use them, and the ideas in and about them, as vehicles for their unique imaginations, instrumental approaches and ideas. Through his compositions they re-imagine and re-synthesize, moving from what they know into newly creative space. They imagine themselves into the future, free of the dogma, clichés and cloy neo-classicisms of current ‘improvised music’ and ‘free jazz’.

Additional information

Année

2017

Artiste

Antonin Gerbal, Joel Grip, Pat Thomas, Seymour Wright

Groupe

Ahmed

You may also like…

Artist(s)
Antonin Gerbal
Joel Grip
Pat Thomas
Seymour Wright

Band(s)
أحمد [Ahmed]

Tracklist

A. Anxious A (20:22)
B. Anxious B (21:08)

Credits

Antonin Gerbal : drums
Joel Grip : double bass
Pat Thomas : piano
Seymour Wright : alto saxophone

Recording : Hagenfesten, Dala-Floda, Suède . August 6th 2016
Engineering : Arve Birkeland
Mixing : Patrick Petzold
Photo (cover) and design : Sven-Åke Johansson
Photo (interior) : Erik Viklund
Production : Joel Grip, Seymour Wright
Liner notes : Robert Levin

New Jazz Imagination (LP)

20€

New Jazz Imagination (LP)

20,00

Rupture de stock

UGS : UMLP04 Catégorie :

Description

Version numérique disponible sur Bandcamp.

Quatre des voix les plus caractéristiques et créatives aux marges du jazz, imaginent leur chemin à l’intérieur et autour de la musique et de la philosophie d’Ahmed Abdul-Malik. C’est une musique à écouter, danser et penser. Un nouveau disque jazz, d’un nouveau groupe de jazz.

[Ahmed] propose une musique autour de la musique d’Ahmed Abdul-Malik. Ils creusent, ré-habitent et ré-investissent les documents et les plans fragmentés, désormais oubliés, de sa vision synthétique – au milieu du 20ème siècle – visant à imaginer un nouveau jazz pour le 21ème siècle.

Ahmed Abdul-Malik (1927-1993) était un contrebassiste, oudiste, compositeur, professeur et philosophe new-yorkais. Potentielle influence de Coltrane et Monk (on imagine), il était aussi un compositeur important à part entière. (Tombé dans l’oubli, il a passé ses dernières décennies à enseigner, se produisant très peu). Ses albums Jazz Sahara (1958) et East Meets West (1960) fusionnent des éléments des musiques et pensées arabes et est-africaines, sa relation à long terme avec l’Islam Sufi, avec le jazz et la pensée contemporaine – d’une manière révolutionnaire et vitale. Le résultat est excitant, radical, brut et beau.

Mais, en plus d’honorer ces traditions, Abdul-Malik a beaucoup inventé et imaginé. Sa vision ambiguë, synthétique et inclusive est l’un des grands projets de l’imagination dans le jazz. Il a mélangé les sons et les ethnies, les significations et les croyances au grand jour, les pratiques expérimentales sans dogme.

Et [Ahmed] fait de même. Ils visitent et (re)pensent ses compositions et le potentiel de leur processus. Ils jouent les notes, mais les utilisent, ainsi que les idées qu’elles transportent, comme des véhicules pour leurs imaginations uniques, leurs approches instrumentales et leurs propres idées. A travers ses compositions ils ré-imaginent et re-synthétisent, partant de ce qu’ils connaissent vers de nouveaux espaces de créativité.

Informations complémentaires

Année

2017

Artiste

Antonin Gerbal, Joel Grip, Pat Thomas, Seymour Wright

Groupe

Ahmed

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…

Artiste(s)
Antonin Gerbal
Joel Grip
Pat Thomas
Seymour Wright

Groupe(s)
أحمد [Ahmed]

Tracklist

A. Anxious A (20:22)
B. Anxious B (21:08)

Crédits

Antonin Gerbal : batterie
Joel Grip : contrebasse
Pat Thomas : piano
Seymour Wright : saxophone alto

Enregistrement : Hagenfesten, Dala-Floda, Suède . 6 août 2016
Prise de son : Arve Birkeland
Mixage : Patrick Petzold
Photo (pochette) et graphisme : Sven-Åke Johansson
Photo (intérieur) : Erik Viklund
Production : Joel Grip, Seymour Wright
Annotations : Robert Levin