Pieces for Percussion

17€

Pieces for Percussion

17,00

In stock

SKU: UB009 Category:

Description

Download available on Bandcamp.

With „Pieces for Percussion“ drummer, composer and accordion player Hannes Lingens (Die Hochstapler, Musaeum Clausum, Obliq, Konzert Minimal) offers the first release under his name after „Four Pieces for Quintet“ (insub, 2013).

Although composed over a period of six years and employing a variety of compositional strategies, the pieces compiled here have a few things in common: They all explore very limited material and in each of them the instrumental frame is narrowed down to one instrument or type of instruments. In the pieces for two and four players, all parts are constructed from the same material. The three solo improvisations have strong conceptual limitations: Cymbal I and Cymbal II have been recorded with extremely close microphones, allowing for details to come to the surface that one normally surpasses. Early Spring has been recorded with the window open on a particularly warm day in spring 2012, percussion sounds are carefully added to the distant city noises coming in through the window.

“I love the regular irregularity of patterns and textures found in nature, the shape of a tree or the sound of water running over rocks in a stream. I am thinking of these pieces as images of such natural phenomena, something ancient and archaic that has been there long before us and will probably stay much longer. Durations of the performances have been defined in the context of this particular record. Also as far as instrumentation is concerned, I view these realizations as propositions rather than definite statements.” – Hannes Lingens, décembre 2018.

Additional information

Artiste

Hannes Lingens

Année

2019

Artist(s)
Hannes Lingens

Band(s)

Tracklist

A1 Cymbal I 01:26
A2 Goofy Footer 06:14
A3 Arhythmic Perfection 03:26
A4 Cymbal II 00:39
A5 Arhythmic Perfection (Reprise) 01:46
A6 Etwas Runder IV 06:14
B1 Four Cymbals 15:27
B2 Early Spring 06:56

Credits

Pieces for two (A3, A5, A6) and four players (A2, B1) have been recorded with overdubs.
Recording :
A1, A4, B1 : Halle (Saale) . 2017
A2 : Berlin . 2017
A3, A5, B2 : Berlin . 2012
A6 : Milan / Mulhouse . 2015
Engineering : Claus Störmer (A1, A4, B1), Christoph Schlimbach (A2), Hannes Lingens (A3, A5, B2), Srtefano Greco (16), Augustin Müller (A6)
Mixing : Christoph Schlimbach, Claus Störmer (B1)
Mastering : Giuseppe Ielasi
Mastering for vinyl : Rashad Becker at Dubplates & Mastering
Design : Michal Fuchs

Pieces for Percussion

17€

Pieces for Percussion

17,00

En stock

UGS : UB009 Catégorie :

Description

Version numérique disponible sur Bandcamp.

Avec “Pieces for Percussion”, le batteur, compositeur et accordéoniste Hannes Lingens (Die Hochstapler, Musaeum Clausum, Obliq, Konzert Minimal) présente le premier album sous son nom après “Four Pieces for Quintet” (insub, 2013).

Bien qu’elles aient été composées sur une période de six ans et avec des stratégies de composition variées, les pièces réunies ici ont quelques caractéristiques communes : elles explorent toutes une matière très limitée et dans chacune le cadre instrumental est réduit à un instrument ou type d’instruments. Dans les pièces pour deux et quatre musiciens, toutes les parties sont construites de la même matière. Les trois improvisations solo ont de fortes limites conceptuelles : “Cymbal I” et “Cymbal II” ont été enregistrées avec des micros extrêmement proches, permettant à des détails habituellement dépassés de remonter à la surface. “Early Spring” a été enregistrée avec la fenêtre ouverte une journée particulièrement chaude au printemps 2012, les sons de percussion sont soigneusement ajoutés aux bruits distants de la ville qui arrivent par la fenêtre.

“J’adore l’irrégularité régulière des motifs et textures que l’on trouve dans la nature, la forme d’un arbre ou le son de l’eau qui coule sur des rochers dans un ruisseau. Je vois ces pièces comme des images de ces phénomènes naturels, quelque chose d’ancien et d’archaïque qui était là bien avant nous et restera probablement bien après. La durée des performance a été définie dans le contexte de ce disque en particulier. Et en ce qui concerne l’instrumentation, je vois ces réalisations comme des propositions plutôt que des affirmations définies”. – Hannes Lingens, décembre 2018.

Informations complémentaires

Artiste

Hannes Lingens

Année

2019

Artiste(s)
Hannes Lingens

Groupe(s)

Tracklist

A1 Cymbal I 01:26
A2 Goofy Footer 06:14
A3 Arhythmic Perfection 03:26
A4 Cymbal II 00:39
A5 Arhythmic Perfection (Reprise) 01:46
A6 Etwas Runder IV 06:14
B1 Four Cymbals 15:27
B2 Early Spring 06:56

Crédits

Les pièces pour deux (A3, A5, A6) et quatre musiciens (A2, B1) ont été enregistrées avec des overdubs.
Enregistrement :
A1, A4, B1 : Halle (Saale) . 2017
A2 : Berlin . 2017
A3, A5, B2 : Berlin . 2012
A6 : Milan / Mulhouse . 2015
Prise de son : Claus Störmer (A1, A4, B1), Christoph Schlimbach (A2), Hannes Lingens (A3, A5, B2), Srtefano Greco (16), Augustin Müller (A6)
Mixage : Christoph Schlimbach, Claus Störmer (B1)
Mastering : Giuseppe Ielasi
Mastering pour vinyl : Rashad Becker à Dubplates & Mastering
Graphisme : Michal Fuchs