Changes II

17€

Changes II

17,00

In stock

SKU: UB006 Category:

Description

Download available on Bandcamp.

With this solo LP and Download album, guitarist Hannes Buder continues his collaboration with Umlaut Records after the 2013 duo release “[ro]” with Hannes Lingens. The music finds its counterpart in the strangely beautiful cover art contributed once again by Michal Fuchs.

It’s been almost a decade since Buder’s self released solo CD “openyoureyescloseyoureyes”. In these ten years the Berlin based musician performed a few hundred solo shows around the globe, collaborated with a long list of improvisors, composed for both large and small ensembles and released several CDs with different bands and projects. Many of these influences found their way into the music documented on this album.

The disc features compositions and improvisations by the guitarist himself alongside a collection of lesser known German Folk songs, which reveal themselves as abstract bits of Blues in Buder’s hands. Seemingly simple in its appearance, the music unfolds a stunning complexity the deeper you listen: Although most of these pieces were recorded in one take without overdubs, the work is the result of a long search, a process of trial and error until conditions were satisfied for a clear and deeply felt statement. 

To make his point, Buder utilizes a diverse array of means: not only does he treat his 1950s Herbert Wurlitzer guitar with violon bow, effects and preperations, he also makes use of a flute and an old pump organ.
In its plain honesty, its clarity and matureness, this recording recalls the great solo guitar albums of John Fahey, Fred Frith, Derek Bailey, Loren Connors et al. We are witnessing an artists dialogue with his instrument, he himself being as much a listener as we are. In the intimacy of this conversation, the music gets to us unfiltered, pure.

Additional information

Année

2015

Artiste

Hannes Buder

You may also like…

Artist(s)
Hannes Buder

Band(s)

Tracklist

  1. Changes II (for eugen drewermann)
  2. Ich hab die nacht geträumet
  3. Heidenröslein
  4. Requiem for alexander litvinenko
  5. Ocean #1
  6. Bird drone (for henry flynt)
  7. Es ist ein schnitter, heisst der tod
  8. Improvisation #4
  9. Ocean #2
  10. Es flog ein kleins waldvögelein

Credits

Hannes Buder : archtop guitar, pump organ, wooden flute1
4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 composed/improvised by Hannes Buder
2, 3, 7 et 10 are traditional German Folk songs

Recording : january to September 2014
Artwork : Michal Fuchs

Changes II

17€

Changes II

17,00

En stock

UGS : UB006 Catégorie :

Description

Version numérique disponible sur Bandcamp.

Avec ce LP solo, le guitariste Hannes Buder poursuit sa collaboration avec Umlaut Records suite à la sortie en 2013 de [ro] en duo avec Hannes Lingens. La musique trouve son pendant avec cette couverture à la beauté étrange, une nouvelle contribution de Michal Fuchs.

Cela fait presque dix ans que Buder a produit son premier album solo : “openyoureyescloseyoureyes”. En dix ans le musicien basé à Berlin a fait quelques centaines de concerts solos autour du monde, collaboré avec une longue liste d’improvisateurs, composé pour des grands et petits ensembles et sorti plusieurs CDs avec différents groupes et projets. Nombre de ces influences se retrouvent dans la musique enregistrée sur ce disque.

Le CD présente des compositions et des improvisations du guitariste, ainsi qu’une collection de chansons du folklore allemand peu connues, qui deviennent des morceaux de blues abstraits entre les mains de Buder. Apparemment simple, la musique dévoile une complexité stupéfiante plus on l’écoute. Bien que la plupart de ces morceaux aient été enregistrés en une seule prise sans montage, ce travail est le résultat d’une longue recherche, d’une série de tentatives et d’erreurs jusqu’à obtenir les conditions satisfaisantes pour produire ce discours clair et sincère.

Pour exprimer son propos, Buder utilise des moyens variés : non seulement il complète sa guitare Hebert Wurlitzer 1950 d’un archet de violon, d’effets et de préparations, mais il utilise aussi une flûte et un vieil harmonium.
Dans sa pure honnêteté, sa clarté et sa maturité, cet enregistrement rappelle les géniaux albums de guitare solo de John Fahey, Fred Frith, Derek Bailey, Loren Connors. On assiste au dialogue d’un artiste avec son instrument, lui-même étant autant auditeur que nous. Dans l’intimité de cette conversation, la musique nous parvient sans filtre, pure. – Hannes Lingens, janvier 2015.

Informations complémentaires

Année

2015

Artiste

Hannes Buder

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…

Artiste(s)
Hannes Buder

Groupe(s)

Tracklist

  1. Changes II (for eugen drewermann)
  2. Ich hab die nacht geträumet
  3. Heidenröslein
  4. Requiem for alexander litvinenko
  5. Ocean #1
  6. Bird drone (for henry flynt)
  7. Es ist ein schnitter, heisst der tod
  8. Improvisation #4
  9. Ocean #2
  10. Es flog ein kleins waldvögelein

Crédits

Hannes Buder : guitare archtop, harmonium, flûte en bois
1, 4, 5, 6, 8 et 9 composées et improvisées par Hannes Buder
2, 3, 7 et 10 sont des chansons folk traditionnelles allemandes

Enregistrement : janvier à septembre 2014
Artwork : Michal Fuchs