Ornithologie

12€

Ornithologie

12,00

In stock

SKU: UMFRCD31 Category:

Description

Download available on Bandcamp.

Trio founded in 2014, Un Poco Loco keeps (re)visiting its personal history of jazz, a history maybe a bit crazy but mainly very liberated. After the eponym Un Poco Loco and Feelin’ Pretty, dedicated to the West Side Story of Leonard Bernstein, Fidel Fourneyron, Sébastien Beliah and Geoffroy Gesser have already asserted a strong musical identity, proving if need be that traditions are not less honored than freedom. The critics haven’t mistaken (with notably a victory at the prestigious contest Jazz Migration) ; the public even less. For this third record, the trio comes back with a new renowned repertory to reinvent, Charlie Parker’s !

In Ornithologie, the compositions of the Bird become a legacy for the trio : the one of the legendary solos of Parker, their melodic evidence, their eternally modern swing. But more than a legacy, the master of bebop’s repertory is the playground of countless occasions of reinventing these themes, whose possibilities hadn’t yet been exhausted. In the manner of boppers, Un Poco Loco takes a great pleasure, intensely and musically liberating, in redirecting these musics towards an infinity of other paths. The ones that emerge at each detour of the Bird’s repertory in this ornithology that can’t be summed up in words.

Just as can’t be summed up the communicative complicity of a trio able to sound as an orchestra as well as a one man band. From this unity, they draw the ressources of a music exploding in the mode of playing the potentialities of tones and improvisations, forcing each instrumentist to multiply in an infinity of roles and vocabularies. Without any obsequious nostalgia and as closely as possible to the vibrant soul of the Bird’s music, Un Poco Loco successes in opening these indestructible themes towards a new listening that no one, except them, could have imagined. It imposes itself nonetheless, immediately, as an evidence.

Additional information

Année

2020

Artiste

Fidel Fourneyron, Geoffroy Gesser, Sébastien Beliah

Groupe

Un Poco Loco

You may also like…

Artist(s)
Sébastien Beliah
Fidel Fourneyron
Geoffroy Gesser

Band(s)
Un Poco Loco

Tracklist

  1. Shaw’Nuff
  2. Yardbird Suite
  3. Anthropology
  4. Salt Peanuts
  5. Barbillie’s Time
  6. Everything Happens To Me
  7. Ah Leu Cha
  8. Okiedoke
  9. Chasin’ The Bird
  10. Segment
  11. Mango Mangue – Donna Lee
  12. Groovin’ High
  13. Bluebird

Credits

Fidel Fourneyron : trombone, arrangements
Geoffroy Gesser : saxophone, clarinet, arrangements
Sébastien Beliah : double bass, arrangements

Recording : Studio B Tap de Poitiers . May 2019
Engineering : Erwan Boulay
Mixing and mastering : Erwan Boulay (Studio Libretto, October 2019)

Ornithologie

12€

Ornithologie

12,00

En stock

UGS : UMFRCD31 Catégorie :

Description

Version numérique disponible sur Bandcamp.

Trio fondé en 2014, Un Poco Loco continue de (re)visiter son histoire personnelle du jazz, peut-être un peu folle mais surtout très libérée. Après l’éponyme Un Poco Loco et Feelin’ Pretty consacré au West Side Story de Leonard Bernstein, Fidel Fourneyron, Sébastien Beliah et Geoffroy Gesser ont déjà affirmé une identité musicale forte, démontrant si besoin que les traditions n’étaient pas moins honorées dans la liberté. La critique ne s’y est pas trompée (avec notamment une victoire au prestigieux concours Jazz Migration) ; le public encore moins. Pour ce troisième album, le trio remet le couvert avec un nouveau répertoire illustre à réinventer, celui de Charlie Parker !

Dans Ornithologie, les compositions de Bird deviennent pour le trio d’abord un héritage : celui des solos légendaires de Parker, leur évidence mélodique, leur swing éternellement actuel. Mais plus qu’un héritage, le répertoire du maître du bebop est le terrain de jeu pour d’innombrables occasions de réinventer ces thèmes dont les possibles n’avaient pas été épuisés. À la façon des boppers, Un Poco Loco prend un plaisir intensément et musicalement libérateur à rediriger ces musiques vers une infinité d’autres directions. Celles qui surgissent à chaque détour du répertoire du Bird dans cette ornithologie qui ne se résume pas en mot.

Tout comme ne se résume pas la complicité communicative d’un trio sachant décidément sonner comme un orchestre ou comme un seul homme. De cette unité, ils tirent les ressources d’une musique faisant exploser dans le jeu les potentialités des timbres et des improvisations, obligeant chaque instrumentiste à se démultiplier dans une infinité de rôles et de vocabulaires. Sans nostalgie trop obséquieuse et au plus près de l’âme vibrante de la musique de Bird, Un Poco Loco réussit le pari d’ouvrir ces thèmes impérissables vers une nouvelle écoute que personne, sauf eux, n’avait imaginée. Elle s’impose pourtant, immédiatement, comme une évidence.

Informations complémentaires

Année

2020

Artiste

Fidel Fourneyron, Geoffroy Gesser, Sébastien Beliah

Groupe

Un Poco Loco

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…

Artiste(s)
Fidel Fourneyron
Geoffroy Gesser
Sébastien Beliah

Groupe(s)
Un Poco Loco

Tracklist

  1. Shaw’Nuff
  2. Yardbird Suite
  3. Anthropology
  4. Salt Peanuts
  5. Barbillie’s Time
  6. Everything Happens To Me
  7. Ah Leu Cha
  8. Okiedoke
  9. Chasin’ The Bird
  10. Segment
  11. Mango Mangue – Donna Lee
  12. Groovin’ High
  13. Bluebird

Crédits

Fidel Fourneyron : trombone, arrangements
Geoffroy Gesser : saxophone, clarinette, arrangements
Sébastien Beliah : contrebasse, arrangements

Enregistrement : Studio B Tap de Poitiers . mai 2019
Prise de son : Erwan Boulay
Mixage et mastering : Erwan Boulay (Studio Libretto, Octobre 2019)