Beauty Lies (CD)



In stock

SKU: TSCD2 Categories: ,


Download and bundle Beauty Lies + Within available on Bandcamp.

The fourth and fifth album of Die Hochstapler (The Impostors) come as a package: recorded within their February 2022 residency at the now legendary Berlin venue Au Topsi Pohl, the band delivers the meal including the recipe. Beauty Lies is comprised of (almost) all the composed and collectively developed material that the quartet uses to cook up the two course menu on Within. While the latter documents the music as played live in front of an intimate enthusiastic audience, the first shows the same band in the same room in the afternoon, without audience and almost without any improvisation. Dryly cataloging their compositions, they unveil the ingredients of the night to come.

The quartet draws inspiration from the whole rich tradition of Jazz, Improvised Music and oral culture. Live in concert, their abandonment of notation and use of game structures, alphabets and morse code allow them to reach a high degree of complexity, jumping from one piece to another or keeping several going at the same time and composing in real time, all the while maintaining a joyful, playing cards like attitude.

Additional information




Die Hochstapler


Antonio Borghini, Hannes Lingens, Louis Laurain, Pierre Borel


Pierre Borel
Louis Laurain
Antonio Borghini
Hannes Lingens


Die Hochstapler
Topsi Series


1. Time Machine 0:34
2. Loop 0:04
3. Le 34 2:18
4. Parade 0:09
5. When you play the Jazz 1:34
6. Bells 1:57
7. Squid Pro Quo 0:50
8. Rien Nul 2:19
9. The Genius of Modern Music 3:18
10. How Many Hairs 1:05
11. Anesthesia 0:20
12. Loop 0:04
13. True Love 10:11
14. J & B 0:49
15. Hochstaplacy 2:26
16. Napoleon 0:24
17. Banana Cage 2:46
18. Beauty Lies Within 2:35
19. Two Kinds of Blues 1:20
20. Loop 0:04
21. Der Bürokrat 0:52
22. Hochstaplarker 1:42
23. The Great Wars 4:03
24. J & T 0:41
25. Loop 0:09


Pierre Borel: alto sax, cymbals, bird calls
Louis Laurain: trumpet, vocals
Antonio Borghini: double bass
Hannes Lingens: drums, vibraphone

1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 16, 20, 25 by Die Hochstapler
3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 14, 17, 19, 21, 24 by Antonio Borghini
15, 18, 22, 23 by Pierre Borel
9, 13 by Hannes Lingens

Recording: Au Topsi Pohl, Berlin – 14-17 February 2022
Engineering, mixing and mastering: Alexis Baskind
Artwork and design: Joel Grip
Produced by Die Hochstapler for Topsi Series on Umlaut Records. Supported by Initiative Musik gGmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media.