The Quick Brown Fox Jumps Over The Lazy Dog (LP) #UB010LP 22 Nov 2018

Die Hochstapler

The Download version of this album is available from

The Quick Brown Fox Front 72dpi

1. Dear Margherita 02:10
2. The Music of Alvin P. Buckley 02:17
3. Prima 14:57
4. The Fox 04:19
5. Di Prima 15:54
6. APB is dead 00:34

After devoting their debut to the concepts of Anthony Braxton and Ornette Coleman and inventing the collective alter ego Alvin P. Buckley as the mastermind behind their second album, Die Hochstapler have with their third release offiially declared Alvin P. dead and arrived at a music entirely their own.
The title is borrowed from the literary exercise of building a sentence including all the letters of the alphabet. This is no coincidence, as four out of six tracks presented here are based on a collectively developed musical alphabet. Don’t expect this to sound like a dry exercise, though: The music ranges from the rustic romance of „Dear Margherita“ through the lively „The Music of Alvin P. Buckley“ and the surprisingly serious „The Fox“ to the zeninformed „APB is dead“. The remaining two pieces are two halves of Die Hochstapler’s Opus Magnum „Prima – Di Prima“, a more than half hour long four-way contemplation on the notion of cause and effect.

Pierre Borel – saxophone
Louis Laurain – trumpet
Antonio Borghini – double bass
Hannes Lingens -drums

recorded in Berlin, 21-23 December 2017
recorded, mixed and mastered by Christoph Schlimbach
artwork and design by Jeanne Carminati

Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+