Pieces for Percussion #UB009 14 Feb 2019

Hannes Lingens

The Download version of this album is available from subradar.no.

Cover UB009

A1 Cymbal I 01:26
A2 Goofy Footer 06:14
A3 Arhythmic Perfection 03:26
A4 Cymbal II 00:39
A5 Arhythmic Perfection (Reprise) 01:46
A6 Etwas Runder IV 06:14
B1 Four Cymbals 15:27
B2 Early Spring 06:56

With „Pieces for Percussion“ drummer, composer and accordion player Hannes Lingens (Die Hochstapler, Musaeum Clausum, Obliq, Konzert Minimal) offers the first release under his name after „Four Pieces for Quintet“ (insub, 2013).

Although composed over a period of six years and employing a variety of compositional strategies, the pieces compiled here have a few things in common: They all explore very limited material and in each of them the instrumental frame is narrowed down to one instrument or type of instruments. In the pieces for two and four players, all parts are constructed from the same material. The three solo improvisations have strong conceptual limitations: Cymbal I and Cymbal II have been recorded with extremely close microphones, allowing for details to come to the surface that one normally surpasses. Early Spring has been recorded with the window open on a particularly warm day in spring 2012, percussion sounds are carefully added to the distant city noises coming in through the window.

“I love the regular irregularity of patterns and textures found in nature, the shape of a tree or the sound of water running over rocks in a stream. I am thinking of these pieces as images of such natural phenomena, something ancient and archaic that has been there long before us and will probably stay much longer. Durations of the performances have been defined in the context of this particular record. Also as far as instrumentation is concerned, I view these realizations as propositions rather than definite statements.”
Hannes Lingens, December 2018

Hannes Lingens – percussion

Pieces for two (A3, A5, A6) and four players (A2, B1) have been recorded with overdubs.
A1, A4, B1 recorded by Claus Störmer in Halle (Saale) 2017
A2 recorded by Christoph Schlimbach in Berlin 2017
A3, A5, B2 recorded by Hannes Lingens in Berlin 2012, A6 recorded by Stefano Greco in Milan and Augustin Muller in Mulhouse 2015
B1 mixed by Claus Störmer, all others mixed by Christoph Schlimbach
mastered by Giuseppe Ielasi
mastered for vinyl by Rashad Becker at Dubplates & Mastering
artwork by Michal Fuchs

Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+