DDJ #umcd0009 01 Nov 2008


Benjamin Dousteyssier saxophones
Yann Joussein drums
Julien Desprez guitar


After a budding session between three musicians in Paris in December 2005, the group DDJ was established. Since 2003 Yann Joussein and Julien Desprez have been working together, and was then joined by the saxophonist Benjamin Dousteyssier, straight after his arrival in Paris from Marciac. The direction of their music has undergone radical change; the complementary nature of their musical personalities enabling them to see the trio and develop an approach to music in a novel way; and with no bass instrument, the way in which compositions are made leaves each player at increased liberty to interpret and improvise. Ready to surprise the public at any moment and even to surprise themselves, these musicians oscillate between atmospheres of far-out pop to heavy metal enough to electrify the crowd. Influenced by jazz, free jazz, pop, rock, improvised music and contemporary music, the trio forges an identity through music both written and improvised. After nearly two years on the scene, DDJ has made its mark in the industry, playing at Jazz à Vienne 2006, le festival de Marciac 2006 et 2007, France Musique for radio program « La cour des grands », la Défense jazz festival, and Hagenfesten in Dala-Floda, Sweden, as well as playing various club dates on tours in central Europe.

In November 2008 DDJ released their debut album on the label Umlaut Records.

tracks :

1. Amok
2. Tricky Bzz
3. Impro Chantier
4. Beef
5. Ric Peuh
6. Sound wall
7. T’as Cr…
8. Absence Ornitologique
9. Noise

Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+